Are Peanut Butter M&M’s Gluten-Free

Are you gluten-free and want to satisfy your peanut M&M’s craving? Wondering Are Peanut Butter M&M’s Gluten-Free? Peanut M&M’s that are made in the United States are gluten free.

However, it’s worth checking its ingredient list to be sure. Read on to get details!

Are Peanut Butter M&M’s Gluten-Free?

Yes, peanut butter M&Ms is gluten-free, particularly those that are made in the United States. However, these products aren’t qualified as gluten free.

According to the M&M’s official website and the package of the peanut M&M, this product only contains peanuts, sugar, milk chocolate, cornstarch, and other ingredients. Neither of these ingredients contains gluten.

Furthermore, many people with Celiac disease have used a Nima sensor to test peanut butter M&M’s. And they discover that there are no traces of gluten in this product.

Are M&M’s free?

Most M&M flavor variations are gluten free; however, not the wholes are. For example, crispy M&Ms and pretzel M&Ms have gluten. In general, M&M’s doesn’t advertise that their products are gluten-free, and their label doesn’t mention so.

Most of the M&M’s candies are gluten free and aren’t harmful for consumption, particularly if you eat a gluten-free diet or have celiac disease.

Overall, you can consume M&M’s if their label mentions that there is no gluten on the list. Remember, pretzel M&M’s have wheat flour.

M&M’s Flavors are Gluten-free

Though M&M’s doesn’t label it as gluten-free, most of the variations are gluten free. The following are some of them:

  • Peanut M&M’s
  • Peanut Butter M&M’s
  • Milk Chocolate M&M’s
  • Almond M&M’s
  • Carmel M&M’s
  • Thai Coconut Peanut M&M’s
  • Hazelnut Spread M&M’s
  • Coffee Nut M&M’s
  • Mint Chocolate M&M’s
  • White Chocolate M&M’s

How to determine if M&M’s are gluten-free?

The M&Ms are not certified by the Gluten Intolerance Group. As a result, the M&Ms don’t have that “GF” signature.

Still, Mars, which is M&M’s parent company, does a brilliant job labeling the candy to help the consumer determine which one has gluten or not.

They mention allergen warnings on the whole product, which indicates whether the products contain gluten or not. In addition, this warning sign also indicates whether it contains wheat flour, barley, or gluten.

So when checking the M&Ms Packages look for these things:

A “Contains” Statement

An M&M product that has malt, wheat, and barley, should contain a statement on the ingredient list’s bottom.

A “May Contain” Statement

A product made on shared equipment or made from unverified ingredients should have a “may contain” statement.

Final Words

In terms of peanut butter M&M’s, you can confidently consume them without worrying about gluten.

However, you should be more careful when buying the M&M product to make sure it’s made in the USA and check their allergen warning. The reason is that its ingredient list may change over time.

Leave a Comment